instagram pinterest linkedin facebook twitter goodreads facebook circle twitter circle linkedin circle instagram circle goodreads circle pinterest circle

Workshops

My Pandemic:
A Covid Zoom Writing Pod for All

Our Covid Zoom Writing Pod is a private, safe, protected space where we can explore our experiences and express our thoughts, fears and feelings about this pandemic we are all living through.

 

Our Pod offers dedicated time each week to focus on your writing. Seasoned writer or beginner, everyone writes!

 

Prompts and short readings will help inspire new writing, or new takes on a current project: "A moment when I feared things were completely out of control. A moment when I knew I could cope."

 

Write for yourself, for the people you know and love, or for the readers you hope to reach. Write memoir, fiction, personal essay, blog post or poem, or just write what's in your mind and heart and see what shape it takes.

 

Everyone will have the chance to read their writing aloud (encouraged but not required), and to respond positively to what, in others' writing, pleases the ear or reverberates in the mind and heart.

 

Emerge from each Pod session with a solid beginning or real progress on one or more narratives or poems.

 

Writing is healing,

Writing is the beginning of understanding;

Claim your voice and write!

 

The Fine Print

Two 4-session Pods, each $100:

 

Tuesdays, Oct. 27, Nov. 3, 10, 17,  11:30 AM-1:30 PM ET

(8:30 AM-10:30 AM PT/ 9:30 AM-11:30 AM MT/ 10:30 AM-12:30 PM CT )

 

Wednesdays, Oct, 28, Nov. 4, 11, 18, 1 PM-3 PM ET

(10-AM-12 PM PT / 11 AM-1 PM MT / 12 PM-2 PM CT)

 

To register, and for payment options, contact me using Quick Link / Email the Author in righthand column.

Please put "Pandemic Workshop" in the subject line.

  • Pod size is limited for maximum participation.
  • Prompts and short readings will be emailed prior to each session.
  • Join the pod on any device (computer, tablet, phone). Good wifi helps, but participants can also call in.

Facilitator

Signe Hammer has taught writing workshops for 40 years, including the 2019 and 2020 San Miguel Writers Conference and 12 years as an Adjunct Associate Professor of Creative Writing at New York University, where she received an Award for Teaching Excellence. She has been an editor at both a major book publisher and a national magazine. She has published four nonfiction books, along with short stories, poetry, reviews and many national-magazine feature articles. Her memoir was selected as a New York Times Book Review Notable Book.